Banner Logo

Board of Directors


Welcome Aboard

Media Relations

Riding with GPTC

Routes & Schedules

ADA Comp. ParaTransit


Operating policy for the Gary Public Transportation Corporation is made by a seven member Board of Directors. The Board, which is bipartisan, is appointed by the Mayor of and the City Council of the City Gary.. The Mayor appoints three members, with the Council appointing four. The Board of Directors develops policies regarding the operation, contracts, safety, financing, organization, and structure of the Corporation. To effect these policies, members of the Corporation Board meet regularly in public session. These meetings include the presentations by management staff regarding the operational and financial status of the Corporation.

GPTC currently has 72 employees. Bus drivers, maintenance, janitorial and dispatch personnel are represented by Local 517 of the Amalgamated Transit Union for collective bargaining purposes.

Regulations and Supervision

The Corporation is responsible for providing public transportation service within Gary, Indiana. The Corporation has the ability to determine its routes, equipment, facilities, and the scope of standards of service to be provided. The Corporation has taxing power, may issue bonds, and holds condemnation powers. In addition, GPTC is subject to the regulation of the Utility Regulatory Commission of Indiana.

Gary Public Transportation Corporation Board Members


  • Walter Scott



Hulett 2015

         Stephanie Hulett



  • Sharon Levels


         Tamara Young-King



  • Shanita Starks



  • Chester Moore

Tolbert 2015

  • Bill Tolbert



Board Meetings

First Thursday of every month at 5:30 p.m. at the Adam Benjamin Metro Center 3rd floor conference room 100 West 4th Avenue Gary, IN 46402

Board meetings are currently scheduled for the following dates in 2018 (subject to change):

JANUARY 4, 2018

FEBRUARY 1, 2018

MARCH 1, 2018

APRIL 5, 2018

MAY 3, 2018

JUNE 7, 2018

JULY 5, 2018

AUGUST 2, 2018


OCTOBER 4, 2018

NOVEMBER 1, 2018

         The agenda and board information for each Board Meeting will be made available to the public the Tuesday morning before each meeting. Copies are available at the GPTC corporate office or CLICK BELOW for an electronic copy of the most-recently published board meeting packet.


April 5, 2018 Board Packet


Principal Management Staff

Daryl E. Lampkins:

General Manager


Shavon King:

Deputy General Manager (Depts. of Transportation and Maintenance)


Robert Selent:



Clay Cates:
Director of Grants/Procurement Oversight

Riley Stewart:
Director of Transportation

John Dutton:
Director of Maintenance/Facility Manager

David Wright:
Director of Planning and Marketing

Director of Human Resources







Board of Directors


About GPTC

Customer Service